Two new members appointed to The Supervisory Board of Eesti Energia

The Extraordinary General Meeting of Eesti Energia AS held on 14 December 2022 approved a new composition of the Supervisory Council, effective from 20 December 2022 for a period of three years. The Supervisory Council now includes the following members: Anne Mere, Tarmo Porgand, Andres Liinat, Einari Kisel, Meelis Einstein, Luukas Kristjan Ilves, Allan Niidu.

Former members of the Supervisory Board Ahti Kuningas and Taavi Tamkivi were recalled at their own request. The new members of the Supervisory Board with a mandate of 3 years are Luukas Kristjan Ilves and Allan Niidu.

Luukas Kristjan Ilves is the Deputy Chancellor of Digital Development at the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Communications. He is the former strategy manager at Guardtime, a software development company in the field of cyber security and blockchain, and former head of the research and innovation department. He has competence in strategic planning and IT and work experience in both the public and private sectors.

Allan Niidu has a PhD in organic chemistry, he is an assistant professor in tenure at the Tallinn University of Technology, Research manager at the Oil Shale Competence Center of Virumaa College and Head of the Applied Chemistry Working Group of Virumaa College. He has expertise in oil shale chemistry and business development experience from the private sector (Viru Keemia Group, Cambrex).

The Supervisory Board of Eesti Energia consists of 6–8 members, appointed by a decision of the Minister of Finance as the representative of the owner, taking into account the proposals of the Nomination Committee for the Supervisory Boards of State-Owned Enterprises.

The Board is led by the chairman. The requirements and expectations set for the members of the Supervisory Board are set out in the Commercial Code and the State Assets Act. In addition, the Supervisory Board is guided by the Articles of Association of Eesti Energia and the Rules of Procedure of the Supervisory Board.